A35 Redbridge Causeway: Motorists warned of more
closures

A35 Redbridge Causeway: Motorists warned of more closures

The essential safety repairs, part of a wider £25 million scheme to refurbish the decades old bridges, will see the westbound A35 closed completely between Redbridge Roundabout and Rushington Roundabout with diversions in place.

If the weather is good enough, closures will take place from 8pm on Saturday to 6am Monday from August 10 to 12, August 17 to 19, and possibly August 31 to September 2 and September 7 to 9, if contingency weekends are required. 

READ MORE: School where teachers are on strike over bad behaviour rated inadequate

Weekday overnight closures from 8pm to 6am will take place from Tuesday August 27 to Friday August 30, from September 2 to 6 and from September 9 to 11.

Hampshire County Council officials say the works are necessary to find a long-term solution to recurring defects on sections of the road where there are underlying joints, exacerbated by huge volumes of traffic. 

The south footway of the westbound A35 will also be closed for safety reasons. 

 The eastbound carriageway will be fully open.

Here is the full list of closures:

  • Part-weekend closures – from 8pm Saturday until 6am Monday

Saturday August 10  to Monday August 12

Saturday August 17 to Monday August 19

Saturday August 31 to Monday September 2  (contingency only – closure will only take place if weather impacts on the earlier scheduled work)

Saturday September 7  to Monday September 9 (contingency only – closure will only take place if weather impacts on the earlier scheduled work)

  • Weekday night closures (From 8pm – until 6am the following morning):

Tuesday August 27 – Friday August 30

Monday September 2 – Friday September 6

Monday September 9  – Wednesday September 11

Source link


Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *